Skip to main content

Women in Nuclear

Go Search
Women in Nuclear
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Attendee Survey

Monday, February 7, 2011
7:30 a.m.

Continental Breakfast and Registration

8:15 a.m.
Welcoming Remarks

Catherine Romano and Debbie Goddard, WIN Conference Co-Chairs
Terri King-Adams, TVA-WIN Chapter President

8:25 a.m.
Oak Ridge National Laboratory Welcome

Dr. Kelly Beierschmitt, Associate Laboratory Director, Nuclear Science & Engineering Directorate
Dr. Thom Mason, Laboratory Director, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

8:45 a.m.
Opening Remarks
Chuck Fleischmann, U.S. Represntative 3rd District of Tennessee
8:55 a.m.
Keynote Speaker
Marsha Blackburn, U.S. Representative 7th District of Tennessee
9:45 a.m.
Keynote Speaker
Introduced by Terri King-Adams, Nuclear Training, Learning and Development, TVA

Women In Nuclear…Have a Say in Your Future and in Our Industry’s Future
Preston Swafford, Executive Vice President & Chief Nuclear Officer, Nuclear Power Group, Tennessee Valley Authority

10:45 a.m.

Session 1 – Overview of Small Modular Reactors
Facilitated by Alex Enders, Deputy Program Manager, Safeguards and Security Technology, ORNL and Julie Ezold, 252Cf Program manager, ORNL

Clinch River Construction Permit Application Project
Andrea Sterdis
, Senior Manager, Strategic Nuclear Expansion, TVA

Regulatory Issues Related to Small Modular Reactors
Victoria Anderson, Project Manager, SMR Licensing Task Force, Nuclear Energy Institute

Historical Perspective on Small Modular Reactors
Dan Ingersoll, Senior Program Manager, Nuclear Technology Program Office, ORNL

A Practical Scalable Modular ALWR
Rod Adams
, Process Development Lead, B&W mPower™

Technology & Commercialization Overview
Jim Carter
, Managing Director, Michael Kenwood Nuclear Power

12:30 p.m

Facilitated by Ludwig Thibault, General Manager, Nuclear Fleet Performance, TVA

1:30 p.m.

Session 2 – Nuclear Fuels – Past, Present & Future
Facilitated by Nikki Taylor, Outage Specialist, TVA

Nuclear Fuels– Past, Present and Future
Gilda Bocock, Project Manager, U.S. Fuel Customer Operations, Westinghouse
Greg Kessler, Manager Fuel Reliability, AREVA

Present and Near Term of Nuclear Fuels
Mick Mastilovic, Program Manager, Nuclear Fuel Supply, TVA

Advanced Fuel Concepts for Nuclear Reactors
Dan Hollenbach, Criticality Engineer, Spectra Tech

Nuclear Fuels- Past, Present, and Future 
C. Dale Greer
, Program Manager, Nuclear Safety Analysis, TVA

3:00 p.m.

Session 3 – Politics and Policymaking in Nuclear Energy
Facilitated by Professor Mike Fitzgerald, Professor and Senior Fellow, Howard H. Baker, Jr. Center for Public Policy, University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Professor Mary English
, Professor and Senior Fellow, Institute for a Secure and Sustainable Environment, University of Tennessee-Knoxville – recorded

Small Modular Reactors and Nuclear Nonproliferation
Ambassador Thomas Graham, Executive Chairman of the Board, Lightbridge Corporation

Nuclear Energy Policy Issues
Tim Valentine, Group Leader, Nuclear Security Modeling, ORNL

Nuclear Power and Climate Change
Adam Rondinone, R&D Staff Scientist, Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences, ORNL

4:30 p.m.

Session 4 – WIN Region II Updates
Facilitated by Gilda Bocock, Westinghouse

6:30 p.m
Evening Reception at Flatwater Grill on Melton Hill Lake, Oak Ridge
Sponsored by TVA